2 Years in France

Well, I’ve hit my 2 year mark now. I have been living abroad and loving it. I still love Lyon and maybe even more now because I can communicate more with the locals. It’s a very strange feeling to be so lost in a language and it’s something I’ve experienced many times before, but this time, there was no going home after the short trip. Before it was always going to end, but this time it was an ongoing struggle and it was filled with stress and frustration but on the other hand, it was/is one of the biggest learning experiences of my life. So much has happened and now when I’m out speaking French (still needs a lot of work) it’s a funny experience. I feel like half of my brain is concentrating at 110% and the other half is freaking out that i’m not speaking english. It’s a strange feeling indeed and only something that you can understand fully if you’ve learnt another language. I’ve met so many great people from all over the world and continue to do so on a regular basis. Going to polyglot evenings are a great way to practice the language and meet new and interesting people over a nice glass of wine. A relaxed atmosphere with people that are in a similar situation. I find the french people in general quite nice and accepting and happy to help me when I have a problem or when I forget my words etc. I think it’s the same in any country that when you try to speak the language you instantly gain a little more respect no matter how good or bad you are. I can’t wait to be able to speak more fluently and understand everything. I did have a decent conversation in a bar while the music pumped which was a big step forward. All in all, it’s been an amazing journey. It will continue, as I have no plans to leave any time soon. I want to stay in Lyon and build something here. People ask if I miss Australia, and I do a little. I miss my family and friends a lot, but I spent most of my life in Australia and I really feel a deep connection with Europe, so i’d like to stay here and live this lifestyle for as long as  I can 🙂 I plan on traveling a lot more this year so there’ll be more photos coming. It’s so easy and cheap to get around and I hope to do regular little trips as often as possible. So, 2 years down and more adventures to come. Life is good and gets better every day.

About thguitarist

Guitarist, composer and graphic designer.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

