Havin a Krakow

I didn’t know what to expect at all with Poland, it had never been on my travel radar but I’m always happy to try new places and have new experiences. We went to Sylwias home town of Zielona Gora which is really nice and we’ll explore it a little more today and I’ll get more pictures. We did go on a mission to Krakow in the south which was really cool. Marta  (Sylwias sister) drove like the wind and we arrived ready to eat and explore. We stayed near the city centre and once we dropped of the bags we headed in to explore and eat. We stopped at a traditional restaurant to eat Pierogi (like dumplings) and we met up with my friend Jordi from Lyon who was randomly in Krakow at the same time. So, with tummys full we hit the centre and walked around the beautiful buildings and tried not to eat all the chocolate and other good things available. We decided that it was a good idea to do the centre in style and so we took a horse and carriage ride around for 30 minutes and got a sample of what was around. I love the european architecture and this place had many great buildings to see and the general feel of the place was really cool. I think I was expecting Poland to be a little less modern but it was as modern as any other european city I have been to. We ate some more traditional food for dinner and wandered around some more absorbing it all. I didn’t have my good camera with me this night which was a shame because we didn’t get back to some of the same places the following night, so my dodgy iPhone photos will have to do. The following day we didn’t have too much time but decided to go to the popular tourist attraction which is “The Salt Mines”. I hadn’t heard of this and had no idea what it was all about (besides the obvious) but it was all quite interesting and we wandered through for 3 hours or so and learnt a whole lot about salt 🙂 It was quite cool and I was amazed at the size of it. I believe it goes 300 meters under ground but I think we only got to 130m. It’s quite impressive what people could achieve so long ago and the salt industry ended up paying for about one third of the cities buildings. So, salt was a pretty big deal. We headed back to the centre and of course we ate some more. We had eaten some great chocolate, but once is never enough, so we did that again and it was awesome. Alas, time was not on our side and after trying out a local vegetarian restaurant we had to head back to Zielona Gora. I think Marta broke the sound barrier as we arrived 2 hours earlier than we expected, bu that was fine with me because we’ve spent a lot of time in a car. Krakow was great and I would highly recommend it to anyone thinking about heading to Poland, or even if you’re not, it’s another great city to check out.

These first shots are from Krakow

IMG_0299 IMG_0303 IMG_0308 IMG_0316 IMG_0318 IMG_0327 IMG_0342 IMG_0354 IMG_0362 IMG_0367 IMG_0395 IMG_1544 IMG_1545 IMG_1550

 

 

About thguitarist

Guitarist, composer and graphic designer.
Image | This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

